CSIR UGC NET Syllabus 2023 [Download PDF]

Get Study Materials of UGC NET Paper 1 (eBook with MCQ) ⇒ DOWNLOAD NOW

CSIR UGC NET Syllabus 2023: The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) has entrusted the responsibility of conducting CSIR-UGC NET in CBT mode to NTA. CSIR-UGC NET is a test being conducted to determine the eligibility ‘for Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) and for Lectureship/Assistant Professor’ in Indian universities and colleges subject to fulfilling the eligibility criteria laid down by UGC. Online applications for JRF/NET are invited twice a year on all India basis through Press Notification of CSIR-UGC NET for JRF and LS/APCSIR and UGC provide Research Fellowships for training in methods of research under expert guidance of faculty members/scientists working in University Department/ National Laboratories and Institutions in various fields of Science.

CSIR UGC NET Fellowships are tenable in Universities/IITs/Post Graduate Colleges/Govt. Research Establishments including those of the CSIR, Research & Development establishments of recognized public or private sector industrial firms, and other recognized institutions. Only bonafide Indian Citizens are eligible for the test. CSIR-UGC NET Fellowship is tenable in India. The programme is aimed at National Science & Technology Human Resource Development.

NTA CSIR UGC NET Syllabus 2023

National Testing Agency (NTA) has been established in 2017 to conduct entrance examinations for admission/fellowship in higher educational institutions. The National Testing Agency (NTA) has the responsibility to conduct JEE (Main), NEET – UG, Common Management Admission Test (CMAT), GRADUATE PHARMACY APTITUDE TEST GPAT, UGC NET, CSIR UGC NET, etc.

Till December 2018, The CSIR used to conduct the CSIR UGC NET exam across the country. Since June 2019, the UGC NET exam is being conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA). The new pattern of CSIR UGC NET exam is based on a computer (CBT mode).

Pattern of CSIR UGC NET Exam

The pattern for the Single Paper MCQ test is as given below:

  • The MCQ test paper of each subject carries a maximum of 200 marks.
  • The exam is for a duration of three hours.
  • The question paper is divided into three parts.

CSIR UGC NET Syllabus Pattern

NTA conducts CSIR UGC NET Exam twice in one year for Award of Junior Research Fellowship and Eligibility for Lecturership. The exam is of Single Paper Test having Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs). The question paper is divided into three parts.

Part – A (General Science)

This Part is common for all subjects and carries 20 questions pertaining to General Science, Quantitative Reasoning & Analysis and Research Aptitude. The candidates are required to answer any 15 questions and each question carries two marks. The total marks allocated to this section is 30 out of 200.

Part – B (Subject)

This part contains 25 Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) generally covering the topics given in syllabus of the main subject. Each question is of 3.5 Marks. The total marks allocated to this section is 70 out of 200. The candidates are required to answer any 20 questions.

Part – C (Subject)

This part contains 30 questions from the syllabus that are designed to test a candidate’s knowledge of scientific concepts and/ or application of the scientific concepts. The questions are of analytical nature where a candidate is expected to apply the scientific knowledge to arrive at the solution to the given scientific problem. A candidate is required to answer any 20. Each question carries 5 Marks. The total marks allocated to this section is 100 out of 200.

There is negative marking at 25% for each wrong answer.

Note: In all the subject areas of the CSIR NET the actual number of questions asked and to be attempted in each section may vary from exam to exam.

Find here: UGC NET Study Materials for Paper 1 (Download PDF)

NTA CSIR UGC NET Syllabus 2023

There are five subject in which NTA conducts CSIR UGC NET exam on half yearly basis. To download the CSIR NET syllabus, please click on the link below:

  1. CSIR UGC NET Syllabus for Chemical Sciences.

  2. CSIR UGC NET Syllabus for Earth Sciences.

  3. CSIR UGC NET Syllabus for Life Sciences.

  4. CSIR UGC NET Syllabus for Mathematical Sciences.

  5. CSIR UGC NET Syllabus for Physical Sciences.

Note: The syllabus of CSIR UGC NET has been retrieved from the official website of CSIR: https://csirhrdg.res.in/Home/Index/1/Default/1776/78


The Test will consist of Single paper having only Multiple Choice Questions. The exam is conducted on Computer Based Test (CBT) Mode. CSIR UGC NET exam will be held be in one session as under:

Will update soon

Notification: NTA UGC NET Exam December 2022 Complete Information


The minimum marks that a candidate needs to score in CSIR UGC NET to be considered for the award of JRF and eligibility for Assistant Professor is given below:

Category Minimum Marks (%) to be obtained
General, OBC & EWS 33%
PwD/SC/ST 25%

Model Question Paper for CSIR UGC NET

CSIR provides Model Question Papers for all five subjects. A candidate can have a look at the pattern of MCQ for a better understanding of the Exam.

You can go through the links which are provided below:

Related Posts:

UGC NET Syllabus (Updated): Paper 1 and 2
UGC NET Study Materials for Paper 1 (Download PDF)
Solved Question Papers of UGC NET Paper 1
MPhil and PhD Fellowship

error: Content is protected !!
Scroll to Top